Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease. government should focus on reducing evironmental pollution and housing problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree

One school of thought holds that so as to prevent disease and illness, more attention should be put on alleviating environmental pollution and domestic problems. The writer is in favour of this viewpoint due to the negative effects that toxic fumes and building heat cause on human life. It is universally acknowledged that poisonous chemicals released into the atmosphere are the chief culprit for soaring respiratory illness rates. For instance, nicotine and carbon monoxide threaten people with lung cancer and other fatal diseases through long-term exposure. Worse still, little has been done to reduce the emissions to make life safer for those who live in the surrounding areas. Therefore, governments ought to help mitigate pollution by implementing new policies and regulations that force factories to decline or even cease emitting detrimental substances into the air. The heat from buildings is another concerning factor that does harm to human life. In fact, the use of ventilation systems contributing to climate change will eventually cause ailments to people, especially young children. During the daytime, air-conditioners are used to cool down the air while they turn out to be heaters at night. However, both usages accumulate heat in buildings which makes the Earth warmer. Thereby, local authorities should take action to limit the use of these machines by imposing a heftier tax on the commodities to discourage people from buying them. To sum up, it is urgent that governments should control environmental pollution, specifically air pollution, and housing problems like heating to prevent illnesses among residents.