People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

The phenomenon of growing consumption of sugary drinks could be derived from various reasons, including the low cost of manufacturing, and a great number of advertisements with misleading information. To solve such problems, not only do individuals need to be more aware of the sugar they intake on daily basis, but governments also have obligation to stringent censorship to prevent commercial institutions from trading in public health for the perks of revenue. First of all, thanks to advanced technologies, people nowadays are able to conduct massive production of sugar, which decreases its price. It allows factories to add more sugar into their drinks to create the taste of sweetness, which is loved by the majority of young individuals. For example, many young people in Taiwan are accustomed to drinking bubble milk tea as part of their daily diet, despite that such drinks contain lots of sugar and calories. Secondly, many commercial institutions trade in public health for the perk of revenue by sugar -coating their products as healthy food. People who believe in it will unconsciously intake too much sugar. Such circumstances could provoke different health hazards in societies, including diabetes, obesity, and cardiovascular diseases. To solve such problems, individuals need to be more aware of the sweet drinks they have, and work hard to maintain the consumption of sugar within a range suggested by doctors, since sugar will not only cause illnesses, but will foster addictions which can cause negative effects, mentally and physically. Moreover, governments have the obligation to harsher punishments for incorrect information. Take some juice brands as an example, they are alleged for misleading consumers to take their products, which contain a great amount of sugar, as healthy food. After paying a tidy sum of fines, they now will indicate the proportion of sugar and juice on packages as a reference. To summarise, modern technologies and default information from providers are two main causes of an increase in demand for sugar. Despite those individuals should cultivate the capacity to maintain the intake of sugar within a certain amount which will not cause negative influences on their health, governments also have the obligation to prevent residents from receiving wrong information from companies by harsher punishments for those who break the rules.