As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalisation. Some people fear that globalisation will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I both agree and disagree with the statement. On the one hand, I assume globalisation will eventually cover the world if connections between societies continue to grow. On the other hand, it is not likely to happen in the next few thousand years. And by that time humanity may as well destroy itself. The first and main reason why we shouldn’t be afraid of coming globalisation, which shell erase all boundaries, is that people are mostly lazy. For them to be intercultural would mean learning and absorbing a lot of new information, such as new language, traditions, customs, and even food recipes. Many would not want to bother to do that. The other reason is that there is too much information in the world to be mixed. One ’s lifetime would never be enough to learn everything about every culture. We are born and raised in one country with certain traditions. To learn above it, one should really strive and desire to get to know loads of stuff. But even if he wants to learn, he will not learn at all. Cultures can borrow things from one another, but not all at once. Maybe no sooner than they rise and fall. As for travelling, not many can afford that. Of course, now we can travel anywhere we want to via the Internet but these are just pictures without smells, noises, and communication. To summarize, I don’t think we should fear globalisation, and not because it’s not coming but because people are the main reason for it to come but at the same time they are the biggest stoppers of it. I strongly believe people should welcome any knowledge and experience and not be afraid of it. Otherwise, it’s arrogance.