Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

As the world has developed at an accelerated speed, human beings tend to be bombarded with the omnipresence of publicity campaigns. As a result, there is a controversial phenomenon heating up a debate over whether those kinds of advertising are often seen in a negative or positive light. In my opinion, this is a matter of debate in light of different factors before any conclusion can be drawn. On the one hand, inhabitants these days unequivocally gain favourable benefits thanks to commercials. First and foremost, a great number of newly-launched products are informed to customers through advertisements, which not only help them be aware of the array of selections available to their demands but also create opportunities for the enterprises to approach prospective customers. Consumers would thus gain more information, and compare various commodities in the market to have the best purchase. The next convincing element is the considerable revenue of corporations which is ascribed to the invigoration of the national economy. To clarify, advertising drives consumer demand and reaches potential customers, which in turn creates jobs, increases sales, and drives economic activity. A noteworthy mention is that although many technological entrepreneurs, namely Apple, Samsung, and Oppo, hold prominent positions in the market, they still allocate the exorbitant amount of expenditure to publicity materials because they do not have the inclination to be oblivious to their consumers. Despite the advent of marketing bringing citizens a host of merits, its downsides have gained support from the masses. The most obvious situation is that commercials often exaggerate the quality of their products, which leads to the discontentment of those clients who hold heightened expectations for those commodities. Moreover, advertising has the ability to manipulate the shopping habit of consumers. To exemplify, Shopee, Lazada, or Tiki offer dwellers numerous promotions making them not resist the temptation of purchasing more to gratify their desire even though those merchandises are redundant. Consequently, the spending habit can contribute to a "throw-away" society - a thorny issue in this digital era. In conclusion, although advertising has some demerits, they are proven to be beneficial and supportive to both human beings and society from top to bottom. Hence, residents should consider how to use their money wisely and practically to avoid being tempted by those kinds of advertisements.