Many people believe that modern music can have a negative impact on the young. Others believe the effect of modern music is positive. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Art is something which can have numerous forms. One such form is known as music. While most people have the opinion that latest songs have adverse effects on the youth, a few believe it affects them in a positive way. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain my support for the former with examples. On the one hand, there are some artists which try to spread a meaningful message through their albums. The lyrics they use are weighty and can influence the younger generation in a variety of ways. However, more and more teenagers nowadays disregard such songs and mostly prefer other genres. For example, research conducted by BBC revealed that around 60% of the youth today listen to the genres like mumble-rap and hip-hop. What used to be a tool to spread the message about the hardships of the unprivileged, has now become a mechanism for a modern artist to gain attention by using offensive lyrics. On the other hand, as compared to the earlier generation, the current one is quickly influenced by the graphics that some artists use for their music. These videos are mostly obscene and sway people towards the wrong direction. As they are easily influenced, for some this becomes a way to earn quick money. For instance, many social media pay such singers enormous amounts if their videos generate enough views and engagement. As a result, many people avoid doing traditional jobs and prefer earning money through such activities. In conclusion, although music has the ability to have a positive impact on teenagers, I believe, the one which is produced currently has harmful lyrics and graphics and can affect youngsters adversely.