In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is quite common these days for children in many countries to be told they can achieve any goal with enough effort. This trend would create certain advantages but there will also be some disadvantages. On the one hand, there are several reasons why telling kids that they can be good at anything if they give their effort is beneficial. A common reason is that those encouraging words are a good source of inspiration for youngsters to pursue their goals. It means that they can have ambitions and try their best in order to reach their dreams. Another factor can be that in some cultures, encouraging with optimistic comments helps to create children's growth mindset. In fact, the more positive thoughts the kids have, the more sophisticated and brilliant ideas they get. For example, as reported by Vietnam Express in 2020, the 1st-rank winner of the IT competition for teenagers in Ho Chi Minh City could explore his potential and go beyond his limitations to achieve the precious award by trying hard thanks to positive compliments from his parents. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages to telling kids the idea that success comes from effort and hard work only. One obvious drawback is that this tendency can make young children have unrealistic expectations. The reason is that success is a combination of plenty of different crucial factors such as conditions, chances, luck, etc. Another negative effect is that it creates invisible pressure for the kids. This is because when parents put high expectations on their children, the children would experience stress and anxiety. As a result, they have fears of failure or are afraid of making their parents disappointed. For example, as reported in Times in 2018, 30% of high school students in China had to suffer from mental illnesses due to absorbing too many medicines to be alert for university exams because they were stressed and scared to disappoint their moms and dads. In conclusion, telling children that anything is reachable if they put forth effort could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.