In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. These days, taking a gap year between completing high school and entering university has gained a great deal of attention from young individuals. Some claim that this has some drawbacks such as forcing them to spend a huge amount of time in order to catch up on their studies. However, I believe this experience brings benefits including providing a wider range of experiences and perspectives. Some argue that having a year off might adversely impact many students in education. In other words, they need to significantly dedicate themselves to catching up on lectures and tutorials more than others, as most of them might not study very much in the year. According to an article in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper, numerous Japanese students who had experienced a year off answered that they had a hard studying time in the first semester of a fresh year. However, they also said it was not virtually impossible to deal with. Therefore, this drawback is not strongly appealing. On the other hand, I firmly believe that there are many benefits for college students if they take a year off. These can include having a variety of experiences and perspectives. By way of an example, students who have worked for a company could improve their problem-solving skills and time management or deepen their understanding of relationships, which highly encourages them to gain good grades in their universities. In fact, research recently conducted by The University of Tokyo discovered that most students who gained a distinction in their studies had a decent level of such skill sets or knowledge bases due to their working experience in the year. Therefore, the above-mentioned experiences actually bring better education performances. In conclusion, although there are disadvantages including having a difficulty in education in the first period of college, taking a year off provides students with noticeable advantages like gaining various experiences and perspectives. This helps them to succeed at school.