Despite a large number of gyms, a sedentary lifestyle is gaining popularity in the contemporary world. What problems are associated with this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is true that recently there is a rising tendency towards a sedentary lifestyle amongst people; however, some believe that this will result in many problems. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why this might be the case and put several solutions to tackle these issues. One of the potential problems that this pattern of a sedentary lifestyle could lead to is an obese population, which can generate a variety of bad consequences for society as a whole, for example, this trend can result in a declining number of athletes in the country, as a result, the nation will be poorly represented in the Olympic games; therefore, the reputation of the state will be compromised. Moreover, this could lead to the spread of health-related diseases, a primary example is diabetes which is related directly to being overweight, a study done in the USA showed that individuals who are overweight are more likely to get diabetes than people who exercise daily. To address this, there are a number of potential approaches, first of all, an awareness course about the dangers of this lifestyle to educate the public will be a good start, also government should convince its citizens that going to the gym and exercising daily will have good benefits on health. Secondly, local councils should lunch sports competitions frequently and advertise them through television, thus, locals would see the opportunity and participate in such events, for instance, in some Asian countries, authorities organise sports events for the public once a month and the scale of participation is outstanding. To conclude, as I have discussed, there are various associated issues with this trend, and steps need to be taken to tackle these dilemmas