Some people think the newly built houses should be the same as the old houses in local areas. Others argue that local authorities should allow people to build houses in their own styles. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that when building a new house, people should design it the same as other old houses in neighbourhood, while other people believe that people should be allowed to design their own house according to their wishes. Both sides of this argument are agreed and disagreed by many. This essay will thoroughly analyse and discuss both views before drawing a reasoned opinion. Firstly, many argue that building a new house similar to the existing one will promote equality among the neighbours. If the government introduce such rules then the richer people will not be able to construct bigger houses. For example, in many developing cities, rich people build big apartments which indirectly affect the poor people. Therefore, if all people have the same design of houses then it will promote equality in local areas. On the other hand, some also believe that the local authorities should give permission to the people to design their house however they want and I completely agree with that notion. In my opinion, I believe that an individual should have the right to construct their residence in their own way. Although,the government can enforce laws about the structure and floors of houses not designs. For instance, people are happy to follow various criteria to build an earthquake-proof house. Thus, building a new house similar to neighbours does not make sense to me. To conclude, after thorough analysis of both sides of the argument, I truly believe that people should have full right to decide about the designs and styles of their houses. However, authorities can enforce criteria to ensure safety.