When designing building, the intended use of the building should be taken in into account as important rather than the outward appearance? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Architecture and construction are two vastly developing areas in the current world. It is being argued that engineers should pay more attention to the usage of the building rather than its external look. Although this statement may partially be true, I do not totally agree with it because, both these factors are equally essential. On the one hand, the reason why construction is happening is extremely crucial. It should have the ability to serve the main purpose, which is providing residence for humans, equipment, and maybe animals. The decision of making a residence is an investment, as it uses a considerable amount of funds. Hence, the long-lastingness, and safety for the residents have to be prioratized definitely. For example, a theatre hall which is supposed to accompany thousands of people at once, should be physically strong enough as much as it is rich in architectural designs. This is why I believe that the purpose of the construction is an important criterion. On the other hand, it is possible for a high-quality building to be not appealing to the eye. In that case, the investment will go to waste because, the location has to attract potential visitors before serving its purpose. For instance, in the tourism industry, external appeal matters a lot in order to attract tourists to be loyal and to revisit the hotel. The colors they've used to paint the walls, and decorations, the usage of appropriate accessories will obviously work as an incentive for the visitors. Similarly, it will help to improve the reputation of the business as the first impression mostly relies upon external appearance. To sum up, I agree to a certain extent that usage of the construction is of utmost importance, however, the role of physical appearance also cannot be ignored when designing it.