Some think secondary and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Schools have traditionally educated children in a wide array of subjects, allowing students to experiment in different fields. While this approach to education is still valid nowadays, I believe schools should take distinctive teaching methods for those seeking university degrees and those looking for career progression after graduating. One of the apparent advantages of switching to a new system is the economy of time for students. Nowadays, schools teach around 10-12 subjects per semester, making it almost impossible for pupils to excel in each subject. Having to deal with many tasks and homework a day, students can barely manage to find time for leisure activities, such as sports or going out with their friends, which is detrimental not only to physical health but also to psychological well-being. However, if schools would prepare separately for university and career, pupils would find it easier to deal with subjects and manage to spend some time on their hobbies. It should be noted that the traditional schooling system allows developing students as well-rounded and broad-minded individuals by providing them with knowledge from various areas. But having to cover a large number of studies per semester, schools only manage to deliver a glimpse theoretical aspect of subjects. In contrast, the new system allows the allocation of study time for only multiple subjects. This highly improves the efficiency of studies since all energy and dedication of a student is directed towards a limited number of contentful subjects. To conclude, traditional schooling has long preferred immersing students in a wide range of areas to bring up well-rounded individuals for the future. But I believe dividing pupils according to their future preferences, whether they pursue university studies or careers, will bring them more benefits and largely contribute to their performance in their studies.