Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling if for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

With modernization, the amount of waste has considerably increased in every household. It is argued that recycling waste can be promoted only with government intervention. This essay will show whether the government should make laws to make recycling a legal necessity. Firstly, one section of society believes that an inadequate amount of waste is reused for other purposes. To explain further, households tend to throw away their used belongings and prefer to buy new ones. For example, people buy clothes with the changes in trends and throw away the old ones due to which everyday piles of garments are getting dumped which are difficult to degrade because of the non-degradable synthetic used to make attire. Though society is becoming aware of the benefits of reusing waste and monetizing it. For instance, many individuals have started the business of art and craft by using old household items by making them worthwhile of keeping. On the other hand, recycling is a lengthy process and government involvement is required. To elaborate, without adequate machinery, tools or resources, it is very challenging for an individual to recycle the products. Hence, the government has to build recycling plants. Moreover, human beings are mostly careless by nature and they will follow the laws if imposed by the government. To explain further, laws can be imposed by the government to use products which can be recycled easily and industries should also be encouraged to produce recycled products. To cite an example, a study shows that clothing brands are now producing 70% of clothes made with recycled clothes after the intervention by the government globally. To summarise, it can be clearly seen that government involvement can increase the recycling of waste while a very less ratio of waste being reused at home. Hence, the government should step up with regulatory measures and laws to encourage the recycling of waste.