Analyze the impact of cultural differences on international business operations.

There is growing sentiment today related to cultural diversity and its effects on running a business. From my perspective, I believe that the impact of cultural diversity in the workplace can be both favourable and unfavourable and I will discuss it in this essay. On the one hand, there is one main disadvantage of cultural differences related to misunderstanding in communication. Language can be seen as the biggest problem when people connect with each other, especially in spoken language. Even in every people in the office can speak English, the difference between accent and expression still creates many misunderstandings for native speakers. Besides spoken language, body language is also a large matter. Different countries have their own culture and many special ways of using body language. For example, to show greetings and respect to their partners, some Europe countries such as France, Germany, Sweden, etc, tend to shake hands when meeting and leaving. However, in some Asian countries such as China, Japan, etc, people here tend to bow heads instead of shaking hands in the business environment. On the other hand, the benefits of cultural diversity outweigh these disadvantages. First of all, employees belonging to different countries usually have different ways of thinking, solving and handling problems. From that, a matter can be solved in many ways by some different experiences and knowledge bases. Secondly, foreign employees will have more objective and in-depth look at their country's cultures and lifestyle, from that, companies which want to expand their market to other countries will have the right strategy for marketing and operating business in the new markets. For example, there is a memorable advertisement from MacDonal in Finland that has been considered clever locally, but it was seen as confusing and weird by foreign audiences. So, it is really important to do research about the local market before putting products in and that can be supported a lot by local employees. In conclusion, the difference between people in many cultures brings both pros and cons for business companies. However, if we can take these advantages and develop them in the future, they can create much value that can not be predicted.