Government should spend money to encourage the development of sport and art for school students, rather than supporting professional sports and art performance for general public. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the government should invest money to motivate students in arts and sports. However, others debate that professional physical activities and art performances should also be encouraged for the community. In my opinion, the government should maintain a balance while deciding on which target population to invest in. It is indeed crucial to develop art skills among students as they will be creative. The encouragement of sports among youngsters will keep them fit. As a result, they will focus more on their studies and can get good grades which in turn can help them enrol in good universities in the long run. Moreover, the development of arts can help youngsters to plan and pursue their careers in their respective fields. For example, the field of arts is not yet fully explored in Mauritius. On the contrary, the general public should also get a chance to carry out professional sports and artistic performances. This can develop society in a positive way. In addition, a nation creates and maintains good relationships with other countries through sporting events. For example, "Jeux des Iles" in Mauritius has helped the nation to create bonds with other countries such as Reunion, Madagascar and so on. In conclusion, the state should aim to motivate both students and society to indulge in professional sporting events and to develop their interests in artistic performances. Subsequently, a country can benefit enormously if its citizens are skilled and capable to represent their nations in front of the world.