In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

These days, bookshop shelves and TV schedules are heaving with crime stories worldwide. I strongly believe that they are coming to be favoured because people are attracted to the process of unfolding mystery in them. Quite frankly, I am a big admirer of these stories as well because they grant the opportunity to be frightened in a supervised environment where the threat is exciting but not real. To begin with, the popularity of crime fiction and dramas can be attributed to unsolved puzzles in them. The main riddle of these stories - who committed the offence - always appears at the beginning of the storyline. As a result, viewers or readers are always looking forward to the denouement, because in it the logic of events and the motivation of all the characters becomes fully explained. For instance, almost any detective novel about Sherlock Holmes holds its reader steadily to the very end where all the details of the jigsaw are pieced together. Additionally, I firmly believe that having experienced fear and horror in a controlled way is another reason why crime stories are captivating. Such books and TV shows about criminals are fairytales which allow readers and viewers to dive into the darker side of humanity but from the safety of the couch. For example, documentaries of real-life murderers and maniacs are often the same for adults as monster movies for children. Hence, they are quite gripping but safe. To conclude, despite the fact that there are a number of reasons why crime novels and dramas are becoming popular, the presence of unsolved mysteries in them is one of the main ones from my point of view. Furthermore, I hold the view that these stories are attractive because they grant a controlled experience of fear, but at the same time leave the viewer or reader in absolute safety.