Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that modern universities provide a wide range of online courses, therefore, students can take them via the Internet. Although there are some drawbacks of Internet-based learning, I would argue that there are far more benefits. The key drawback of online studies is the lack of control. There are a lot of people with a low level of self-discipline. Therefore, it is difficult for them to meet deadlines and, consequently, keep up with their studies. For example, my classmate was really talented and did not have any trouble learning all the lessons by heart. All her exams were passed with flying colours, however, she fell behind with maths when the course became an online one. Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that the Internet is an extremely useful way of our studying. There are a lot of helpful features such as the ability to continue the educational process in any weather conditions. Moreover, people can use the Internet to take extra courses, such as an intensive language course. Online lessons are rather cheaper than offline ones. For example, if a person has to pass IELTS and does not have the ability to pay for a tutor's lesson, they can take an online free or almost free course. To sum up, while I recognize the possible disadvantages of online learning, I consider it to be a positive development overall. Its flexibility and low costs make the process of learning much more available for all mankind and especially for poor people.