Increasing travels between countries enable people to learn about different cultures, or to increase tension between people from different countries? Discuss both views.

Nowadays, it is commonly acknowledged that the spectacular rise of international travel among countries is providing a great opportunity to learn about various cultures. However, some people argue that this phenomenon augments tension between the masses from different nations. This essay will discuss both viewpoints, as you will see. To begin with, the masses travelling to foreign countries can enlighten themselves with the culture of that alien society. They can get familiar with the traditions and customs of that particular region. Since cultural heritage sites and national museums provide a great deal of information about a country's history, foreigners can know a lot about a particular culture by visiting these places. In addition, they can also get to know about the work ethic of that nation. For instance, people of Asia can travel to the West to learn about the working habits and workplace environments of Westerners. In this way, they can enhance their own productivity and competency by improving themselves in order to compete with their counterparts in the Western world. Therefore, travelling to foreign lands can turn out to be fruitful for tourists. On the contrary, international travelling can arise a legion of issues. The most paramount of those would be the heightened tension among travellers and local folks. Owing to the proclivity of some people not being impervious to the difference of opinion regarding race, creed, religion, colour and language, a plethora of problems could be spawned in society. This intolerance of the masses can lead to social turmoil and chaos. For example, Africans travelling to the United States will face discrimination because of white supremacy. Moreover, there can arise ethnic tensions among natives and tourists due to the lack of cultural harmony. Hence, foreign trips can sometimes prove to be detrimental to tourists as well as the regional population. In a nutshell, it is widely accepted that foreign trips engender tremendous learning opportunities for travellers to discover the abroad culture. Nevertheless, the increase in social and cultural tension is inevitable in this phenomenon. This essay discussed both points of view.