Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

In this day and age, the number of sick people using non-conventional medicines and treatments instead of conventional ones is increasing. I believe that this can be a negative development, as they have a lack of regulation and can lead to delayed treatment. To begin with, alternative medicines and treatments are not always subject to the same level of regulation as mainstream ones. Because they may lack the consistency of quality, and alternative practitioners may not be required to have the same level of education and training as conventional ones. This not only cannot treat a disease but also can cause some extra diseases. For example, there is a famous drink in Iran, which is prescribed by traditional practitioners and is useful for people with a high level of cholesterol. This claim is misleading because it is full of sugar, which not only cannot reduce the level of cholesterol but also can cause diabetes. Furthermore, alternatives may not be effective for some serious conditions, which can result in delayed treatment and potentially harmful consequences. As a result, this allows the condition to progress more serve state in the future, or in some cases it can lead to death. For instance, any delays in the cure of some cancers may affect the whole body and cause death. Some people may argue that alternative medicines and treatments, such as herbal medicines and acupuncture, may be less expensive than drugs or surgeries. Moreover, natural remedies have fewer side effects, because they are safe and have been used for centuries in traditional medicines. Nonetheless, most conventional medicines and treatments are covered by insurance, and also non-mainstream medicines can be dangerous if used incorrectly or in a combination with others. In conclusion, nowadays, using alternatives instead of visiting doctors is increasingly common. I believe that it can have negative consequences, as they are less regulated and can lead to delayed treatment for some diseases. Anyone who worries about the cost or much more side effects of standard medicine can use insurance or should know that alternative medicines or treatments can have much more side effects if used incorrectly