A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other method. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Issues related to longer confinement as a way of punishment are frequently discussed these days. A punishing way for prisoners is not always as good as other ways in terms of longer jail periods. From my point of view, I completely agree with this idea due to several reasons which will be described in detail in the following paragraphs before a conclusion is reached. To begin with, the first reason to consider is that a longer prison period is not a suitable method to prevent people break the law and solve crimes. In contrast, this method will lead to overcrowded in many prisons and the nation has to spend more money on caring for them as well. Additionally, good prisoners should have a chance to be good people in the future, if they feel guilty and be responsible for their doing as well as they should be released earlier. Additionally, another reason is that there are many procedures that encourage people not to break the regulations. In other words, extreme punishment would be implemented for some criminal issues. For example, if people kill others without humanity, they must be punished severely, like poisoning punishments. This will be created concern for people who intend to break the law. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned that there are significant drawbacks if they are in prison longer in case the government wastes money for them, as well as extreme punishing methods, the method will be effective. Therefore, I strongly agree with this viewpoint since it seems to me that the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages.