Nowadays, people can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

Currently, most people have access to the internet and they have the privilege of accessing information instantly; as a result, there are those who think that libraries are not as important as they used to be. In my opinion, online services have put libraries second in line, and thus their existence is no longer important. First, it is fact to accept that libraries have a fixed opening hour, as a result, most people may find it hard to access the services that are provided by libraries during those hours, and this is due to the fact that people are mostly busy during these hours. Thus, the alternative is online services, which are at people ’s service 24/7. Therefore, one can accept the idea that libraries are a thing of the past. Second, few may disagree with the idea that the volume of materials available in libraries is to an extent limited, and the reason is due to copyright policies. For example, the latest research or other publications may not be available in libraries, so most people have no other choice but to seek other methods, in this case, online services. Thus, the idea that libraries are off their limit of service is acceptable. To conclude, in my opinion, libraries ’ rigid opening hours and low volume of materials are the main two factors that make most people favour online services. Therefore, I agree with the statement.