In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, young people are pushed to take a gap year once they finish high school, just before going to the university. This essay will examine advantages and disadvantages of the above scenario and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of the so called “sabbatical” year or period are getting the chance to just resting, before starting university studies, and having the opportunity to find out new culture or places traveling around the world. I clearly remember the latter time of the high school, I was literally devastated and I would had time to take a long nap on the sofa and money to devote at travelling in the most beautiful islands on earth. However, the sabbatical year have also some relevant drawbacks as firstly, even just wasting time and loosing the chance to do something productive for the community and for oneself and, secondly, pushing families to face extra costs for a long period of time. I specifically remember the period once finished the high school: I was really focused and projected on training for the entry exam of the college; a lot of friends spent time on watching tv or playing summer sports at the beach, in other words doing nothing at all. To conclude, there are evident advantages and disadvantages in working or travelling for a year just before starting university studies, as resting, or coming across to other cultures on the benefits side or wasting time and pushing parents to have extra costs for a long period on the drawbacks side. I sincerely believe that the gap year ’s benefits outweigh its drawbacks.