In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

A book is the primary source of knowledge. But in this age of globalization, the scenario and meaning of knowledge and information are changing rapidly. Nowadays, books are stored online. We can say that physical publications are sort of neglected. I can say that this negligence has an overall negative impact despite a lot of conveniences. Books are scanned and uploaded on the internet, and journals, and research papers are published online. One who supports this trend can easily point out numerous advantages. Be it a poor student or be it a person using an iPhone - just anybody can access any kind of book on the go if that person has an internet connection. On the internet, there is no such discrimination based on socio-economic and cultural status. Wikipedia, Internet Explorer and the almighty Google are always there to help one out in any situation. One can find suitable books on the internet just by searching by their name on the search bar. So, technically everyone is just a click away from accessing a book. Some books are even free online. One can just download it and share it with others in the blink of an eye. On the other hand, this availability of online books increases our dependency on technology. It is harmful to the human body, brain, and eyes. If one becomes addicted to technology it can gradually ruin his or her life. Previously people had more perseverance, they used to research a topic thoroughly consulting books and making handwritten notes. But now almost everyone has a short attention span and is more attracted towards short articles and towards those engaging clicks on the screens. These obviously bring pleasure to the human mind but in the long term, it is only going to harm the human mind. To conclude, I can say that undoubtedly none can deny the handiness of books being available online but I definitely doubt its effectiveness in the long term.