Seint Naychi Oo: Do you believe that professional athletes make good role models for young people? Support your opinion with reasons and examples from your own knowledge-edge or experience. Koko : bby

Some people state that professional athletes are a good example for the young generation. I fully disagree with this opinion, because professional athletes are not the universal example for young people in general and additionally sportsmen are just simple people with good and bad behaviour in different situations. First of all, I believe that all kinds of sportsmen including athletes make good role models only for people, who want to become a sportsman in the future. In other words, each job and even each role in society require a different set of knowledge and soft skills. For instance, it is evident that professional athletes can not provide a good example for a person, whose aim is to be an excellent parent. At the same time, for the pupils in sport schools athletes could become far more inspiring than any other person. Moreover, a good role model doesn't consist only of professional achievements. It almost always includes some personal sportsmen's features and behaviour in daily life. Unfortunately, some athletes with amazing wins and with huge amount of medals do awful things. For example, there were some reports when famous sportsmen left their families and have not helped with their children later. What I mean, it is a very difficult task to separate the professional life of athletes and their personal life. In conclusion, I am convinced that the role model, which is based on professional athletes ' achievements and behaviour, is not the best role model for children and teens. In my opinion that this role model is too narrow and moreover, this role model ignores that professional athletes are not only strong sportsmen without all disadvantages.