Young people spend their free time in shopping malls. This has a negative effect on young people and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is undeniable that nowadays youngsters use their spare time in malls, which is believed to affect negatively individuals and the community. I partially agree with such a point of view because even though this type of leisure activity enables youngsters to set up new relationships, this behaviour can harm youths’ academic performance. On the one hand, having leisure activities such as strolls in the mall creates an atmosphere that helps boys and girls to strengthen bonds, as it enables unique special moments while teens enjoy cinema, arcade and other activities offered in this place, therefore, such experience brings memorable moments that are paramount in relationships. For example, it is known that when youngsters go to a shopping mall to share positive experiences with their family and friends, they will feel able to trust their ties, which leads to a more confident and strengthened bond. On the other hand, spending many hours inside malls instead of doing some school activities can probably affect teens’ knowledge and grades at school, because this behaviour can easily distract youngsters from study preparation, consequently, they will be affected in their adult achievements. For instance, it has been proven that 5 out of 10 teenagers in Brazil are not capable to conclude the school year after have poor educational achievements, because of the lack of preparation caused by the period spent in a shopping mall, which will probably result in an unemployed and non-qualified employer. To conclude, I do believe that even though spending time doing some mall activities can be useful in relationships, this type of leisure activity can jeopardize educational performance. However, a such balance needs to be made individually, as each person has their own personality and perspectives on life.