Some people believe city life is getting more difficult whereas others think it’s becoming easier. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Cities have changed much over the years and so a number of people believe that these changes have made their lives easier while others argue the opposite. This essay will discuss both points of view as well as my reasoning as to why I agree with the latter opinion. The growth of cities provides services such as public transport to increase and improve. As a result, as more money is being saved, less is being spent on consumer goods such as cars which congest roads. Cities also attract foreigners due to growing job opportunities, creating more diversity and because of this, there are more relationships and friendships being formed that would have otherwise never happened. On the other hand, Overpopulation is a major reason as to why many might find city life difficult. As the housing market and employment are directly affected this results in a huge amount of people becoming homeless and unemployed proving that there are a few cons to living in the city. Another reason to add to the difficulty is that people can find it tough to socialize due to the development of modern technology. As people nowadays prefer to communicate online rather than face-to-face there are fewer chances to build friendships naturally. For example, people on transportation, namely trains and busses, are buried in their phones making it hard for someone to want to approach and start a conversation. To conclude, even though there are major benefits to living in a city, I recognise that there are bigger issues that come along with it. In my opinion, I would prefer to live elsewhere, as becoming homeless is a great fear of mine.