Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have differing opinions how the progress of a country should be measured. Some argue that the most desirable aim for governments is to make the economy sustainable, whereas others think other developments as much important as a thriving economy. I am, personally, in favor of latter view. On the one hand, it can be never denied that a strong economy can result in job creation, a high level of employment and governments can therefore pay high salaries to its citizens. At the same time, with the advent of an economic progress, governments could invest in several infrastructures, where funding is mostly needed. For instance, a healthy economy can lead to an improved transportation network, education system, hospital facilities and public services. Additionally, in terms of political influence and trading power, a country could raise its overall rank on a global scope with the help of an advanced economy. On the other hand, there are other forms of principal improvements, which are as significant as economic factors mentioned above. From a social standpoint, we should consider the areas of democracy, human rights, justice and equality, when judging the progress of a country. In other words, a success of a nation could be measured by looking at people’s sense of satisfaction, health, happiness and well-being. Another key consideration has to do with how well governments protect their environment, whether it is moving forward an environmental sustainability. In conclusion, while an economic growth is by no means important, however, I believe that social, health and environmental criteria are equally significant.