Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos can help protect the rare animals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the necessity of the existence of zoos. Although I accept that zoos are brutal for wildlife and should be shut down, I partly agree with this idea and I will outline the reasons in the following essays. There are several reasons why it could be argued that zoos should not exist. Firstly, wild animals have the right to live in natural habitats. In captivity, animals can not perform their natural behaviour and this may lead to stress and behavioural problems. For instance, there were cases that animals harmed themselves and even tried committing suicide. Secondly, some zoos were established for profit instead of educational purposes. These zoo owners do not take animals ' interests into first consideration. Therefore, wildlife may not be treated well in both physical and mental aspects. However, I would agree with those who believe zoos are beneficial to society. Zoos protect endangered species so that they will not die out in the wild. For example, pandas can only live under strict environmental conditions and may not possibly survive if it had not been for zoos. Moreover, zoos provide good educational opportunities for people to observe wildlife at a short distance. Without zoos, people may not have the chance to look at animals so closely and may not gain related knowledge about animals. In conclusion, while some zoos are undoubtedly negative towards animals, many other zoos are doing their best to preserve rare animals. Both sides of the argument have merits, nevertheless, I believe the existence of zoos is necessary.