It has been suggested that everyone in the world want to own a car, a TV and a fridge. Do you think disadvantage of such a development outweigh advantages?

Nowadays, it is has been said that all people have to own households possessions, such as cars, TVs and refrigerators. Though, at face value, this might be seen as a favorable change, I believe this suggestion, for the most part, disadvantageous. Initially, it is essential to consider some possible upsides to wide use of these items. First and foremost, people can indisputably increase their standards of living. That is, as well as the number of people possessing these household goods increase, so does the likelihood of maintaining prosperous life. For example, people, resourcing themselves with these possessions; lessen their chances of facing hardships in the moments when they are needed, like not relying on neighbor’s car in emergency situations. Another benefit of widespread use of the household items, relating to TVs and fridges, would be in favor of producers of these appliances. From an economic perspective, extensive use of any item will result in a greater demand for production. This is likely to benefit manufacturers and other companies that rely on homeowners to buy their products, thus ensuing better revenue. Despite the advantages mentioned above, I believe drawbacks of this trend are more significant. The chief problem is that greenfield sites would be depleted seeing as the need in order for cars to park. In this sense, not only green areas will continue to be diminished, as urban areas proceed to sprawl, but it also leads to exploitation of natural resources. Take Manhattan as an example, a surplus number of parking lots are ‘eating’ natural habitats, let alone areas for housing, which are being dwindled. Secondly, energy-hungry appliances, especially TVs and fridges, require electricity to operate and more electricity will be needed, if these appliances were used widely. In other words, not all countries generate energy using renewable sources, which might consequently face financial and environmental problems. All in all, while pros of this trend are worth considering, I would contend that problems resulting, like shrinkage of natural areas and feasible issues, far outstrip its positives.