Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recent years have witnessed a debate about what should be the key focus of nations' authorities. While many politicians believe that it should be the growth of the economy, opponents contend other matters should be taken into equal consideration. This essay will elaborate on both perspectives and the reasons why I lean towards the latter. On the one hand, it is justifiable that the economy is the spearhead of a country, and putting huge effort to develop it is essential. This is because the more significant the economic progress, the higher the national living standard. To illustrate, the USA is considered to have a strong economic potential, thus, its citizens have a potent living foundation. Another justification is that finance is one of the fundamental factors to open a window to resolve education-related problems and poverty. This implies that without money, the government cannot afford to implement measures to raise the country's educational level and support the poor. As a result, fostering economic growth is obviously considered one of the highest priorities. Nevertheless, considering sustainable development, I hold the belief that policymakers should pay attention to other subjects of increasing concern as well. First, it is the environment, which is a major issue of not solely one nation, but the whole global. Despite having a profound impact on the survival of human beings, the Earth is environmentally worse than it was before. Hence, if the authorities do not take prompt actions to slow the deteriorating speed, economic progress will ultimately make no sense. Second, developing countries should tackle the gap between the poor and the rich. In a real sense, concentration on the economy results in worsening the financial discrepancy between citizens. For instance, although Dubai is always seen as a rich nation, many people in this country are still facing up to severe poverty, which is definitely not a positive case. To conclude, with the debate about countries' development, it is sustainability and equality that are important. Therefore, I am all in favour of putting the emphasis on multiple critical aspects, not just the economy.