Raising household electricity fees is the most effective solution to the problems associated with power generation and environmental pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective in reducing the environmental pollution caused by power generation?

Nowadays, with the growth of environmental pollution, more and more solutions are being done to deal with this problem. One of them is raising household electricity fees. Personally, I quite disagree with this solution and there are still multiple solutions to decrease the amount of pollution caused by power generation. On the one hand, when the electricity bills are heightened, not only the residents but also businesses and factories will suffer a lot of disadvantages. It is a fact that residential energy consumption takes only a small part of overall energy use, while plants play as the main energy consumers. For instance, in The United States, industrial and commercial activities use more than 50% of energy, while residential use is just 30%. On the other hand, there are still plentiful ways to curtail pollution in the environment. First, by using more clean and renewable energy, humans will be less reliant on fossil fuels. For example, nowadays, more and more countries such as VietNam or China set up wind-turbine in seaside areas in order to produce eco-friendly energy. Second, people can reduce air pollution by using public transport or sharing mobility. Let’s take the example of the USA, governments have invested billions of dollars into public service, especially public vehicles such as buses or undergrounds. In conclusion, I believe that raising residential electricity fees is not a good alternative and there are still many effective ways to curb environmental pollution like promoting cleaner energy sources and eco-friendly transportation