The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. what are the advantages of this trend ? do the advantages outweigh the disadavantages?

We live in a world today dominated by prepared meals; although this trend has a positive side, it is indeed filled with drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss the perceived pros and cons of convenience foods and argue why it has far more significant disadvantages. There are a variety of advantages to this tendency, first of all, this kind of nutrition requires less preparation time in comparison with traditional meals, they usually take up to only 10 minutes in order to be prepared; therefore, this kind of food helps parents in saving time for more important matters. Moreover, people don't have to spend hours in grocery stores looking for ingredients needed in complex traditional dishes, because they only have to buy one ready-to-eat meal for their lunch or dinner. A survey done in the UK showed that individuals save up to 2 hours a day of shopping thanks to ready-to-buy meals. Despite the obvious appeal, I believe that the drawbacks do in fact outweigh the benefits, the process of production of such food involves various chemicals and their safety towards human health is yet to be proved, as a matter of fact, few studies in the USA link those additives to the dramatic rise of numbers in cancer. Furthermore, if humans become totally dependent on this tendency, it will have severe effects on agriculture as citizens will no longer purchase their products; thus, this can lead to the downfall of such activity in the countryside. To conclude, As I have discussed there are a number of positive prons to this trend; however, I would argue that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.