Tell us about one or two times where you have utilised your problem solving skills to achieve an outcome.

In terms of my problem-solving skill, I actually utilised the skill when I worked in my first workplace. I launched my career at Kumagaya boys high school, which used to be one of the most academic schools in Japan. However, as achievements of the school got worse year by year, the school lost its reputation. When I was appointed to the school, it seemed to me that the teachers lacked motivation to endeavour and reach students’ full potential. Then I first attempted to define the problem. I shortly recognised that the school motto that educational activities should rely on students’ decisions didn’t fit the real situation. Compared to the past, the students were less independent, whereas the teachers did not change their teaching styles over time. Therefore, I thought the teachers should involve themselves to students’ activities more. Afterwards, I encouraged some of young teachers to do so together, which definitely enhanced school’s mood and students could spend their school life more comfortably. This practice rapidly spread through the teacher team. Of course, I could not analyse accurately how this practice influenced the students’ activities but indeed the students after I came to the school made more successful achievements than they used to be. I learned that if you face some difficulties it may be vital to identify the root cause of the problem, brainstorm potential solutions to address the identified root cause, implement the chosen solution and monitor the outcomes logically in the end.