Is it too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The buildings are the face of most cities around the world, their architecture speaks volumes about their history and culture. Hence, the aged structures and constructions are not a liability instead it is the identity of the rich culture so they should be safeguarded and renovated as long as possible. This essay completely disagrees with the statement from the perspective of viewing the expenses as worth and negligible on the scale of their cultural and economic value. First of all, looking at the cultural significance of the buildings in a city is very important. These iconic structures are not only tangible evidence of historical events that had taken place in that geographical location but also hold the knowledge of the lifestyle, art, architecture and even the cultural transference that existed at the time with other countries. For instance, let’s take the case of Rashatrapati Bhavan situated in the Indian capital city of Delhi. The building is more than a century old yet stands tall as a symbol of the country's values such as unity, democracy, and secularism. Furthermore, most of these monuments are a major geographical attraction that catalyses Indian tourism and in turn results in an economic boost for the country. For example, the Taj Mahal, is one of the seven wonders of the world. It not only is an architectural marvel but is considered a symbol of love. Its popularity attracts local and foreign tourists alike. Therefore, it is one of the reasons for India's prosperity among foreign countries, evidence of our rich culture and history and it is a big financial contributor through tourism. To conclude, even though the expenses of maintaining these monuments might look expensive from a broader perspective that is not the case considering the role they play in the cultural and economical aspects of a country.