Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and peoms. To what extend do you agree and disagree?

There is a belief that says, students should not learn or gain knowledge about literature subjects such as novels and poems, because it is a waste of time and effort, I deeply disagree with the statement because literature can give us strong views towards life and also can change us to become better humans in such many ways. In the first point, I believe that good novels and poems from great authors can strongly make us gain experience in life, in other words, reading such good books has the power to give us great opinions towards many things like how to deal with the human's emotions or in general people, for instance, I have been reading in literature for many years and that has changed my personality and my mind, for example, reading to Dostoevsky can give insight into yourself and individuals around you and that obviously will makes you understand more the people. That leads to the other view, in my opinion, I believe that the person will change after reading literature because it has the ability to give knowledge in a fun and clear way, for example, it is easier to retain information when it is taken from a fun story according to Harvard, and it is sure that knowledge makes us better humans. In conclusion, although reading novels and poems is fun, however, it is also helpful, and despite people having different views, I think that the more you read a great novel the more you gain a lot of things from it, such as views towards life and wisdom.