Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that governments should allocate money to railways instead of roads. While I disagree the former can be abandoned, I do believe the latter deserves a huge amount of money. Funds should go to railways because there is a huge demand for them. In addition, every member of society, including students, tourists, businessmen and so on needs them. Due to the well-designed railways, tourists can travel around the country, which can contribute a lot to the economy. Businessmen transport goods everywhere through railways, which runs the country smoothly. If there were not for this pivotal public service, our country would be underdeveloped and our society would go back to ancient times. Therefore, railways need to be designed and built carefully. I do argue that roads need funds for a range of factors. Firstly, they lead to a high employment rate. If there were no roads, the job of drivers would not exist, and the restaurants for them would disappear. This would result in a dramatic decline in the rate. Secondly, the connection of roads and railways will make transportation desirable. Those residents living far away from the rail station can resort to nothing but the road to take the train. Finally, a majority of people need the system. Driving the car to get some necessities emerges as an integral part of our life. So, roads should be given great importance, too. In conclusion, the government should spend more money on the railway and the roads.