as well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Looking at the world it is clear that we have more successful companies than ever. While many people believe that these companies are solely responsible for maximizing profit, my view is that they are subjected to other social obligations as well. In fact, many stakeholders would be suffering if corporations only cared about the revenue that they earn. Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see that certain greedy firms often exploit their employees by offering lower-than-average salaries to novice students, resulting in young working adults cannot afford decent accommodation, transportation, and healthcare, which is the reason why we have a such low birthrate. Therefore, on top of an attractive balance sheet, CEOs also need to treat their workers in a humanitarian way. Likewise, the externality of enterprises should also be taken into consideration. Consider fast food brands such as Pepsi, KFC, and Popeyes, all of which are causing severe health problems like diabetes, obesity, and even cardiovascular diseases. Yet, a major proportion of investors choose to ignore this fact since these big names usually generate a solid rate of return. Hence, organizations that pose a threat to society need to spend more time on minimizing the damages that they caused although they are financially successful. Those who harbour the view that enterprises are not entitled to any social events may argue that they have limited budgets. Indeed, companies can only contribute something positive to the public when they have a surplus. However, rather than donating millions of dollars, they can always participate in social activities by providing unpaid work. This seems like a reasonable compromise. In conclusion, big firms not only ought to boost the economy but also play a vital role in promoting social welfare. Only by doing so can we have a better commercial atmosphere for everyone.