Doctors recommend that older people should exercise regularly. However, many of them do not exercise enough. What are the causes? What can be done to encourage them to exercise?

Having a healthy, active lifestyle is often hindered due to ageing. Even though doctors and professionals recommend the elderly engage in physical workouts, they tend to ignore. This essay will examine the causes and some suggested remedies for this problem in subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, the main reason for adults not to exercise is their low resistance to pain and their ignorance. Due to weak body and severe body pains that come with the age in areas like knees, elbows and, wrist area, they tend to be really careful with their daily activities and hence will not be willing to try exercising. On the other hand, many elders believe that after a certain age, workouts should be avoided as it depletes their bodies even more. For instance, when I recommended my grandfather, who always complains about body stiffness to join me in my daily runs in the morning, he bluntly rejected it with the excuse that running will make his knees more tiring. In order to make them see the reality and push them to try exercising, we could make it entertaining and promote group workouts. Working out is not exactly a routine everybody loves, however it could be fun to engage with if we find reasons to enjoy. For example, older people could be asked to use the treadmill while watching their favourite drama or listening to music. In addition, just like how youth goes to Zumba classes, gyms for elders should also be promoted, allowing them to engage in their workouts together with same-age people, which will lessen the awkwardness. In conclusion, majority of the older people disregard the importance of physical workouts, but with the usage of the right techniques like making it entertaining and exercising in groups, we will be able to motivate them.