Some people think zoos are cruel and all zoos should be closed. However, some people argue that zoos can help protect rare animals. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion

While some people believe that zoos play an important role in protecting wild animals, others think that keeping animals locked up in such places is cruel and unnecessary. The essay will elaborate on the rationale behind both viewpoints and from my perspective, I am convinced by the latter. There might be some arguments in favor of the view that zoos are associated with animal cruelty and thus should be permanently shut down. The most striking reason is that zoo animals are captured and kept in small cages, away from their natural habitats. It means that their freedom is really limited and their movements are also restricted inside a small space. As a consequence, most of them have to suffer from serious mental problems since they are out of contact with their peers as well as the nature where they were born. Despite the aforementioned points, I still believe in the second viewpoint. The outstanding rationale is that hunting wild animals is becoming increasingly common leading to the situation in which rare animals are on the verge of extinction which will cause the loss of ecological balance. Therefore, zoos provide these species with safe shelters and separate them from the harm of hunters and poachers. Thanks to that, they can breed and reproduce to maintain a stable population. In addition to this, zoos are useful places for students who can access their lessons from a practical angle when they have the opportunity to observe animals in real life. As a result, they will understand more knowledge about the ecosystem and raise awareness amongst the public in order to help preserve rare species. In conclusion, although I admit that conventional zoos have been treating animals cruelly since they are captured in small spaces, I am still in favor of the fact that modern zoos play a key role in preserving endangered species because they are protected from hunters and reproduced. Therefore, it is the responsibility of local authorities to convert traditional models to more innovative ones where animals are better protected.