Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate whether people today are more independent or depend on each other more than before. In my opinion, individuals have much more interactions with others today but many of them are so standartized that it is easy to live without counting on others. On the one hand, the amount of people that a person meets per day now is usually higher that the amount of encountered people during a whole life in tribal societies millennia ago. It is hard to argue that it is possible to become more independent with such increasing number of acquintances. However, I stick with an opinion that in most cases it is not a relationships between two persons but rather between a person and a system. For example, when a patient comes to a hospital the outcome of a threatment depends less on personal relations with a doctor and more on standardized protocols. On the other hand, in the previous centuries and millennia being part of a tribe or a clan was a matter of survival. Without other mates surviving a harsh weather or fighting predators or other humans in coalitions was near to impossible. Therefore, dependency on others was much stronger than nowadays. In my opinion, it is a valid claim. An illustration for that was using exile from a group as the most severe punishment that was close to a death sentence. To conclude, although people today have more communications with others, they are more independent compared to the times when forming coalitions with others was matter of life and death. Reliable institutions decreased importance of personal connections.