Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is often thought that children will gain more benefits when they are exposed to reading materials, such as stories in books rather than being engaged with programs on TV or games. In my opinion, I completely agree that when children read books, it will benefit them in a number of aspects, especially in their future lives. Firstly, by reading books, children will develop their reading skills. Without a doubt, reading is one of the skills which is essential in every child's life especially when they are in primary and secondary schools because, at this level, they will be exposed to a number of reading comprehension. Although reading skills are taught in schools, many of them are not interested in reading outside of school period as they feel that this is a boring habit. Therefore, when reading is cultivated at an early age, children will pick this as their habit and start reading more material. This will clearly help improve their speed in reading, and undoubtedly this will help them to get the main ideas of the reading that they will be given in a short period of time especially when they are in university later in the future. Secondly, when children read story books, it will develop their creativity and imagination. Children who read stories such as non-fiction stories will undoubtedly encounter many different characters and events that they will not come across in their daily lives. This will give them the opportunity to be in another world full of their own imagination and colors. Although some of the non-fiction stories have been made into movies, some are not really satisfied with the images that they see on the screen because they feel that what they have imagined and pictured is better than what they see on TV. Therefore, it cannot be denied that with this habit, children can be given the freedom of being as creative as they can and this cannot be gotten through TV programs or even games that have rules to be followed. To sum up, I once again reaffirm my position that reading is a habit that can bring a number of advantages to children. Although we are in a developed world with advanced technology, it is important for every parent to ensure their children have a book to read during their leisure time.