All children should study a foreign language in school, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Learning a second language is often one part of the curriculum during compalsory education in many countries. There is a long-standing debate about the best time to introduce. I totally agree with the opinion that school should provide all children with a foreign language class as soon as possible. I will cover my reasons in this essay as well. First of all, generally speaking, youngsters has more flexible brains than adults. Therefore, adults are usually required to spend more time to obtain a foreign language skill. In other words, the younger, the easier to learn another language. Bilingual speakers are the perfect examples. They listen to multiple languages on a daily basis from the time they were born, which leads to early learning. Secondly, when children start to go to elementary school, their mother language is still imperfect. This circumstance allows them to learn a second language much easier than older students. Once their native language becomes sophisticated, children tend to translate the second language into their first language, rather than learning the second language by itself, which slows down their comprehension speed. For instance, in Japan, English class used to be introduced from grade 7, but the education system has changed several times over the past ten years. As a result, grade one is the first year of English class in Japan now. To conclude, a foreign language is oftern introduced into school curriculums around the world, I belive that early learning would be benefical for children to obtain the second language as soon as possible.