These days, older people who have retired often choose to spend money on themselves (for example on holidays) rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it has become a popular trend to invest in the well-being of future generations. While some people think this is a good demonstration of care for their heir, I argue that children should be completely self-responsible for their financial state. One of the reasons why people devote themselves to work at a young age is to enjoy life when they become older. However, they are only losing this opportunity by spending their preserved money on their children. Instead, they deserve to utilise their finance to realise some of their dreams. For example, they can traverse the world, visit famous sights, go to the cinema etc. Moreover, when young people are not backed up by their parents in financial terms, they feel more responsibility. Instead of living in their parent's pockets, their heir will start earning for living by themselves, study to improve their skills and aspire for a better career in the future. As a result, they will continuously progress in their earnings and develop as self-sufficient individuals. Additionally, by having enough money, children can also contribute to the well-being of their parents. Thus, by limiting the amount of money they give their children, older people will effectively ensure a better future for the next generations. To conclude, it is commonly believed that the elderly should feel responsible for the financial support of their heir. However, I hold the belief that young people should not be fully supported by their parents to give them room for self-improvement and to ensure that they grow as financially independent individuals.