Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A good healthcare system is a backbone of a country. It is often argued, that medical services should be provided for the citizens at no cost, even if the new medical treatments are not made available due to their costly nature. I agree with this viewpoint and this essay will discuss the supporting points of my view. Firstly, it helps people in poverty to live a less stressful life. Poverty is considered to be high in many developing nations, where people's level of income is below the living standards. By providing free healthcare services, poor people will have access to hospitals and medicines which are required for basic illnesses. For instance, in Sri Lanka national hospitals providing medical services free of charge, have allowed people in poverty to save money for other necessities such as food and shelter. Hence, having good health services enable poor people to have a happy life. Secondly, taking care of basic illnesses could prevent the death rate in a country. With the improvement in technology and the world economy being affected by inflationary pressures, having access to the healthcare system has become significantly expensive. However, even when the latest treatments are not available, if the citizens are provided with basic treatments for free, it encourages them to take care of themselves even during a small illness. For example, research conducted in India shows that people are more encouraged to visit hospitals when services are provided for free, which could eventually result in less death rates, preventing serious illnesses. Subsequently, free healthcare only provides good benefits. In conclusion, having a healthcare system which provides free service for basic treatments could prevent serious illnesses and provide a healthier life.