Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the workplace, employers ask applicants for additional information. Generally, this is information about marital status and personal hobbies, as a result some people opine that this information is not helpful for recruiting, while others are convinced it is worth the attention. Both views will be discussed in the essay. On the one hand, HRs are interested in excellent candidates and ask controversial questions about marital status. According to the hh.ru survey statistics, married candidates are more likely to be reliable employees who will not quit in 1 year because of family status. In addition to this CV point, hobbies can be helpful in certain areas. We know the IT sphere is a diverse industry: from e-government to sports digitalization. Then in an interview in an IT company, talking about your hobbies and additional interests is a way to show your horizons, which can be applied in the narrow direction of the company. On the other hand, mostly requesting personal information can violate applicants' boundaries. "European Journal of Information Systems" journal interviewed HRs and applicants about women's employment; more than 50% of women were rejected because of having children. Recruiters believe that a woman, after a decree, cannot do quality work. Asking for a family status is an invasion of privacy and a way of violating labor rights. To summarize, I firmly deny these questions in the job interview because the employee is concerned about the work's result, not the evaluation of his extra-work activities. Professional skills should be a priority when hiring.