Recent advances in medicine have resulted in an increase in life expectancy over the past four years. Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancement of healthcare, populations today can live much longer life compared to the past. While people generally find this trend appealing, I would argue that by prolonging human life, modern medicine has resulted in the emergence of a wide spectre of problems that the world needs to deal with today. In terms of individual well-being, contemporary medicine certainly improved the quality of life. It frequently helps to prevent early death cases in the population, thus, resulting in increased levels of trust in healthcare among people. For example, extreme health hazards like cancer or heart attack can be more effectively combatted with contemporary treatments. Furthermore, some modern techniques in medicine now find a cure for some diseases thought to be unrelievable previously. Thus, it can be said with confidence that today's healthcare is much more reliable than before. However, on a large-scale, increasing life expectancy resulting from improved medicine raises large sets of issues. One of its adverse effects is overpopulation, which has become one of the most significant concerns in the world in recent years. As people live longer lives, the population on Earth is increasing at a rapid rate. Another issue it arises is relevant to the economy of a country. With the increasing proportion of older people in society, governments must allocate a large portion of their budget to distribute pensions. Due to this, the economy of many countries is suffering, and, as a result, governments are increasing the minimum age for retirement. In a nutshell, contemporary medicine has generally improved the quality of life worldwide. However, in the long term, this may cause the Earth to become overpopulated and governments struggling to pay pensions.