In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Some students prefer taking a gap year to work or travel before starting to attend a university. This essay will discuss some advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon. On the one hand, doing a job before studying at a university might help young people to find their passion since some of them are not sure about their future careers. They can come up with a business idea or find a job which suits them. Another aspect of taking a gap year is that it gives youngsters a chance to save up money for college, due to the prohibitive cost of higher education. In addition, if they choose to travel, they can create memories and take some rest before entering college. This is more likely to show a great impact on their future studies and boost their energy. On the other hand, in some cases, a gap year decreases the chance of studying in a university at all, because some young people tend to enjoy making money rather than paying a huge amount of money for education. For example, according to a survey on the employment rate, almost 30% of people who started working as soon as graduated high school, never attended any university. Moreover, those who chose this path tend to lose their self-confidence when they hear about other students who are continuing their studies successfully. In conclusion, taking a gap year helps youngsters to find themselves, save up money and even have some time to enjoy. However, it can also reduce their chance of getting a higher level of education and affect their self-confidence.