In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Crime fiction has become one of the most popular genres and nowadays occupies the leading positions in some countries. Having captivating and intriguing plots, such books and films attract an audience by provoking thoughts on the endings. I hold a contrary opinion about this genre and suppose it contains too much violence and aggression. On the one hand, reading and watching TV is a way to unwind, as a consequence preferable genre should be instantly engaging and give a sense of accomplishment. Crime novels fulfil this requirement as they have a definite conclusion, namely, the criminal is punished, justice is served, and readers or watchers are satisfied that the misconduct was solved. Moreover, novels grip an audience throughout the narrative, maintaining interest with twists or dubious actions of characters. For example, these stories involve astute individuals in the detection of illegal activity together with the main characters, triggering people to consume such fiction so actively. However, I hold the view that crime dramas are unnecessarily cruel. Plots of these stories are packed with scenes of psychological and physical violence that distort people’s perceptions of illegal activity. I, therefore, hypothesize that consuming content about this may develop a tolerance for any kind of cruelty. To give an instance, if individuals watch or read plenty of such dramas, it makes them overly fearful or anxious, impacting their mental health. The tendency of overconsumption of this genre seems to be off-putting and appalling. In conclusion, there is no doubt that crime novels and dramas have gripping plots and engage their audience in the investigation. Nevertheless, I am inclined to think that they do harm to our society by spreading and normalizing violence.