While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

Whilst academic study is highly valued by the majority of students, I personally agree with those who suggest the equivalent importance of vocational training, which could cultivate qualified workers. On the one hand, it is inevitable that academic education could cultivate talents in different professional fields, such as the aspects of medicine and science. For example, people who have high academic education are more likely to come out with solutions regarding current issues, including the treatment for rare diseases and the countermeasures to reduce environmental pollution, including air pollution derived from a high density of population in cities. On the other hand, I am in favour of encouraging students to gain practical skills from vocational training due to various positive impacts. First of all, it helps societies to foster the incremental population of skilled workers, which could satisfy the demands for employees as such in workplaces. Secondly, individuals with skills could have more work opportunities, which could lower the unemployment rate in a nation. For instance, many commercial institutions in Taiwan cooperate with the government to provide various financial supports and internships for students of vocational training since it is considered one of the fastest and most efficient methods to cultivate qualified employees. To summarise, it is true that academic education is crucial to provoke exports in certain areas, however, the value of short period courses for cultivating skilled workers should not be overlooked since it plays an essential role to ensure a functional society with skilled workers in construction or health care system.