Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, food production has increased significantly due to a large number of factories. There is a high amount of sugar in their production, which leads to a high risk of diseases. It is said that there should be some policies for distributing more costly goods. I disagree with this statement to a large extent, and I am going to elaborate on this in the following paragraphs. Initially, there have been several reasons for consuming sugary food. A lot of manufactured food and drink are introduced to the market, which have a high amount of sugar. When people see these kinds of foods instead of healthy foods, like vegetables, proteins, and fruits, they are encouraged to spend money on them. As a result, they will have an unhealthy diet without nutrients, and the rate of diabetes will grow. Moreover, if the producers increase the price of these items, they will just reduce the consumption of poor people in society. Therefore, rich people will continue buying expensive foods without thinking about the price. Consequently, they cannot be effective for the public’s health. Similarly, there are some other ways to reduce the amount of sugar consumption instead of increasing the prices, which are more useful. For example, the government can inform people by introducing some programs on TV or social media about the drawbacks of excessive consumption of unhealthy foods. Furthermore, they can reduce the sedentary lifestyle by offering more gyms and recreational areas, which increase people's activities. As a consequence, a healthy lifestyle will be taught, and more people will try to manage their purchases. Likewise, the education system can foster the children’s knowledge to engage in more physical activities. Some countries make their products more expensive to decrease customers. But there is some evidence which indicates that people still like to buy sweet foods compared to other foods. Therefore, they cannot reduce the negative implications of these kinds of foods. In conclusion, although increasing the price of sweet products can lessen their customers, providing opportunities for the public to follow healthy routines will be essential and more effective.