Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view

Nowadays, some believe that the internet provides an opportunity to communicate in various location locally and abroad, however, it raises concerns as this decreases people's social interaction and limit physical socialization which is essential in building relationship. I would argue that this is certainly true and I strongly agree with this notion. In this essay, I will discuss and give my opinion on this view. The innovation of our communication allows a person to save time considering that they could spend more time with their family and friends. Before modernization people work inside offices for longer hours without having contact with their loved ones, but when everything become digitalized they can chat and video call using apps such as Whatsapp, Viber, and Messenger during their free time or when they wanted. While I acknowledge the merit although this can be destructive behaviour in the office since many would use working hours for personal ones. On the other hand, the internet could cause a debilitating effect on a person's social skills development. The wide use of this limiting the face to face interaction and decrease physical socialization. Unlike years before the birth of the internet, people used to meet up and talk, and play around with their peers or other siblings. However, all of these things changed when the internet era started, personal communication become noticeably less. For instance, instead of talking with their friends in person,they will call using their mobile, chat and play with them online and share views and opinions through social messaging. Hence, people are too attached to their mobile and laptops, and screen time has become more important than having personal conversations, thus making them socially isolated. In conclusion, I strongly agree that people should be concerned about the negative effects of internet on the people's lives as this can be a destructive force to break relationships between families and friends. While acknowledging the benefits of it to our workforce and personal lives.